Château FAUGÈRES

St.-Émilion Grand Cru Classé

Discover

Terroir

An exceptional terroir

The flagship of the Vignobles Silvio Denz portfolio, Château FAUGÈRES consists of 42 homogeneous hectares of some of the most beautiful terroir in St.-Émilion. The vines are located on the appellation’s limestone plateau, composed of calcareous soil on asteriated limestone dating from the Lower Oligocene, and on south-south-east facing clay-limestone slopes in a cirque, made up of calcareous soil on clay-limestone molasse from the Upper Eocene and Oligocene.

Silvio Denz set himself the objective of bringing out the best in this exceptional terroir by monitoring Château FAUGÈRES’ vines as closely as possible with his team. This has required time, work and meticulous care to accompany the growth cycle and achieve optimal ripening.

Architecture

Cathedral of wine

The winery designed by architect Mario Botta towers over the rows of vines and has come to be recognized as a symbol of the property and even of the appellation. Five centuries separate its façade, with its simple yet sculptural geometric design, from the curves of the Faugères chartreuse house, built in the 16th century as a hunting lodge and sharing the same view. A remarkable piece of architecture, the winery is also a powerful tool designed to enable state-of-the-art vinification techniques.

A veritable temple to wine, the superb facilities, which include a gravity-fed vat room, combined with the advice of Michel Rolland, the estate’s consultant oenologist since 1992, allow the team to strive for perfection with every vintage.

Portrait of Château FAUGÈRES

St.-Émilion Grand Cru Classé

  • Recognized as a Grand Cru Classé in 2012
  • Low yields: 35 hectolitres per plot, rigorous selection of berries
  • Blend: 85% Merlot, 10% Cabernet Franc, 5% Cabernet Sauvignon
  • 42 hectares, in a natural amphitheatre, taking advantage of the slopes surrounding the estate, with good exposure to the sun: south, west and especially east (which gives the wine its exceptional freshness)
  • The slopes provide good drainage, enabling the limestone soil to absorb and retain sufficient water to be able to cope with the hot, dry summers
  • High Environmental Value level 3 certification
  • Good drainage also avoids excessive water in the soil, which enables low yields, and for the fruit to reach a good level of ripeness without becoming waterlogged.
  • Blend: 85% Merlot, 10% Cabernet Franc, 5% Cabernet Sauvignon
  • Vinification: aged 14 months, 50% in new French oak barrels, 50% in French oak barrels that have been used once
  • The winery, designed by Mario Botta, helps to bring out the characteristics of the magnificent terroir thanks to the high-tech equipment in which the wines are transferred entirely by gravity
  • Second wine: Le Calice de Faugères “Subtle, seductive, floral nose. A superb expression of Merlot on the palate, with notes of blackcurrant and hibiscus. Velvety, generous mouthfeel with a smooth finish.”

Tasting

‘‘ The nose has a bouquet of ripe fruit, black cherries and floral notes.
On the palate, the wine is extremely rich and flavourful with a fine acidity. The finish is characterized by freshness and balance. ’’

Technical sheet

Château FAUGÈRES

Grand Cru Classé de Saint-Émilion

Tasting Notes

Château FAUGÈRES

Grand Cru Classé de Saint-Émilion

Château FAUGÈRES

Château Faugères, Saint-Étienne-de-Lisse, France

View on map Contact us

Vineyards

Château FAUGÈRES

Grand Cru Classé de Saint-Émilion

Découvrir

Terroir

Terroir de Grands Vins

Véritable vaisseau amiral des Vignobles Silvio Denz, le Château FAUGÈRES est constitué de 42 ha homogènes des plus beaux terroirs de Saint-Emilion. Ses vignes sont situées sur le plateau calcaire composé de calcosols sur calcaires à astéries datant de l’oligocène inférieur, et sur des coteaux argilo-calcaires orientés sud-sud est en cirque, constitués de calcosols sur mollasses argilo-calcaires de l’éocène supérieur et de l’oligocène.

C’est ce très beau terroir que Silvio Denz a choisi de valoriser en suivant au plus près, avec son équipe, les vignes de Château FAUGÈRES. Du temps, du travail, des soins attentifs pour accompagner l’évolution du cycle végétatif et conduire à la maturation optimum.

Architecture

Chai cathédrale

Désormais emblématique du domaine et de l’appellation, le chai dessiné par l’architecte Mario Botta domine les alignements du vignoble. Cinq siècles séparent sa façade au tracé géométrique aussi sobre que sculptural des arrondis de la Chartreuse de Faugères, édifiée au XVIe siècle comme relais de chasse et située sur la même perspective. Ouvrage architectural remarquable, le chai constitue également un outil technologique conçu pour servir une vinification pointue.

Véritable temple du vin, ses infrastructures d’excellence, et notamment son cuvier gravitaire, couplées au suivi de Michel Rolland, œnologue conseil du domaine depuis 1992, visent la perfection millésime après millésime.

Le portrait du Château FAUGÈRES

Grand Cru Classé de Saint-Émilion

  • Reconnu Grand Cru Classé en 2012
  • Petits rendements : 35 hectolitres par hectare, grand choix de baies
  • Assemblage : 85% Merlot, 10% Cabernet Franc, 5% Cabernet Sauvignon
  • 42 hectares, dans un amphithéâtre naturel, qui permettent de profiter du coteau entourant le domaine, avec une bonne exposition au soleil: Sud et Ouest et surtout l’Est (qui apportent toute la fraîcheur au vin)
  • Les pentes permettent d’avoir un bon drainage de l’eau, ce qui permet à nos sols calcaires de bien absorber l’eau et de la retenir pour affronter les étés chauds et secs
  • Un bon drainage permet également d’éviter une quantité excessive d’eau dans le sol, ce qui permet de faibles rendements et ainsi les fruits atteignent une bonne maturité et ne sont pas chargés en eau
  • Vinification : élevage de 14 mois, 50% en barriques neuves de chêne français, 50% en barriques de chêne français à usage unique
  • Le chai conçu par Mario Botta, aide à magnifier le beau terroir grâce à ses installations de haute technologie dans lesquelles les vins sont transférés par gravité
  • Certifié du label Haute Valeur Environnementale de niveau 3

Dégustation

‘‘ Au nez on retrouve un bouquet de fruits mûrs, cerises noires et des notes fleuries.
La bouche est ultra-riche, savoureuse et une fine acidité. Fraîcheur et équilibre se retrouvent en finale. ’’

Fiche technique

Château FAUGÈRES

Grand Cru Classé de Saint-Émilion

Notes de dégustation

Château FAUGÈRES

Grand Cru Classé de Saint-Émilion

Château FAUGÈRES

Château Faugères, Saint-Étienne-de-Lisse, France

Voir sur un plan Nous contacter

Les vignobles