Château ROCHEYRON

Saint-Émilion Grand Cru

Discover

Terroir

A great limestone plateau terroir

Château Rocheyron’s vineyard covers 8.45 hectares of St.-Émilion’s historic limestone plateau terroir.

Its vines are planted on the Saint Christophe-des-Bardes plateau, which is composed of calcareous soils on asteriated limestone dating from the Lower Oligocene: a terroir renowned for its ability to produce great wines.

History

Partners

Since 2010, Silvio Denz and the Danish oenologist Peter Sisseck have shared the stewardship of Château ROCHEYRON, a historic property located on the plateau that produces St.-Émilion’s finest wines. The two men combine their expertise to release the 8.45 hectares’ full potential every year. Managed according to biodynamic principles since 2014, the property undertook the Biodyvin conversion process three years later, and successfully obtained organic agriculture certification with the 2020 vintage.

At Rocheyron, the duo and their team observe and monitor the vineyard very closely in order to obtain an ever more accurate expression of the terroir.

Biodynamics

An ode to nature

Peter Sisseck, Silvio Denz and their team apply the principles of biodynamic and organic agriculture on a daily basis, firmly convinced that this is where the future of winegrowing lies. Based on observation, the natural rhythm of the seasons, and the needs of the soil, the vines and the wine, these principles represent a return to the roots of vineyard management.

The property, which also has High Environmental Value level 3 certification, has embarked on a CSR process in order to adopt a comprehensive approach to its impact on the area.

Portrait of Château Rocheyron

Saint-Émilion Grand Cru

  • Organic Agriculture certification
  • Member of the Biodyvin union since 2019
  • HEV3 certification
  • 45 hectares, on a limestone plateau dating from the Lower Oligocene period
  • Small yields: about 30 hectolitres per plot, rigorous selection of berries
  • Gentle, low-temperature vinification in temperature-controlled concrete vats
  • Aged for 18 months in French oak barrels
  • Second wine: La Fleur de Rocheyron “Subtle, charming, elegant nose with aromas of black fruit and cinnamon, a delicate woodiness, and a hint of smoke. Beautiful velvety mouthfeel with elegant tannins.”

Tasting

Château Rocheyron is an elegant wine that skilfully combines an explosion of red fruit and extreme finesse with fine-grained tannins, expressing this wine’s excellent terroir on St.-Émilion’s limestone plateau. A noble, distinguished, very well-balanced wine that can be appreciated over several decades.

Technical sheet

Château ROCHEYRON

Saint-Émilion Grand Cru

Tasting Notes

Château ROCHEYRON

Saint-Émilion Grand Cru

Château ROCHEYRON

Château Rocheyron, Saint-Christophe-des-Bardes, France

View on map Contact us

Vineyards

Château ROCHEYRON

Saint-Émilion Grand Cru

Découvrir

Terroir

Un grand terroir de plateau calcaire

Le Château Rocheyron est constitué de 8,45 ha du terroir historique de Saint-Emilion, le plateau calcaire.

Ses vignes sont en effet implantées sur le plateau de Saint-Christophe-des-Bardes composé de calcosols sur calcaires à astéries datant de l’oligocène inférieur : un terroir réputé pour sa capacité à produire de très grands vins.

Histoire

Complices

Depuis 2010, Silvio Denz et l’oenologue danois Peter Sisseck président ensemble aux destinées du Château ROCHEYRON, domaine historique situé sur le plateau des plus grands vins de SaintÉmilion. Les deux hommes conjuguent leurs savoir-faire pour permettre à ces 8,45 hectares de vignes de révéler chaque année tout leur potentiel. En viticulture biodynamique depuis 2014, le domaine passe trois ans plus tard en conversion biodyvin et obtient avec succès la certification Agriculture Biologique à partir du millésime 2020.

À Rocheyron, le duo et leur équipe travaillent dans une grande proximité avec le vignoble pour donner une interprétation toujours plus juste de ce terroir.

Biodynamie

Une ode à la nature

Convaincus que la biodynamie et l’agriculture biologique sont l’avenir de la viticulture, Peter Sisseck et Silvio Denz accompagnés de leur équipe, en appliquent les principes au quotidien. Un véritable travail de vigneron, basé sur l’observation et se faisant au rythme des besoins du sol, de la plante et du vin.

La propriété, également certifiée du label Haute Valeur Environnementale de niveau 3, s’est lancée dans une démarche RSE afin d’avoir une approche globale de son impact sur le territoire.

Le portrait de Château Rocheyron

Saint-Émilion Grand Cru

  • Certifié du label Agriculture biologique
  • Membre du syndicat Biodyvin depuis 2019
  • Certifié HVE3
  • 8,45 hectares, sur plateau calcaire datant de l’oligocène inférieur
  • Petits rendements : environ 30 hectolitres par hectare, grande sélection de baies
  • Vinifications douces à basses températures en cuves béton thermorégulées
  • Elevage de 18 mois en barrique de chêne français

Dégustation

Château Rocheyron est un vin élégant qui combine savamment une explosion de fruits rouges et une finesse extrême avec des tanins aux grains fins qui sont en phase avec l'excellent terroir de ce cru situé sur le plateau calcaire de Saint-Emilion. Un vin noble, racé et très équilibré qui s'appréciera sur plusieurs décennies...

Fiche Technique

Château ROCHEYRON

Saint-Émilion Grand Cru

Notes de dégustation

Château ROCHEYRON

Saint-Émilion Grand Cru

Château ROCHEYRON

Château Rocheyron, Saint-Christophe-des-Bardes, France

Voir sur un plan Nous contacter

Les vignobles