Château PÉBY FAUGÈRES

St.-Émilion Grand Cru Classé

Discover

Terroir

A unique world

Covering 7.45 hectares, Château PÉBY FAUGÈRES is located on a single clay-limestone hillside facing south-south-east.

A combination of an excellent geological profile and a superb microclimate due to the presence of the river and the cirque-shaped hillside, this terroir, identical to the southern slopes of St.-Émilion, is a unique world of which man is the custodian, intervening only to reveal its characteristics.

With the 2020 vintage, Château PÉBY FAUGÈRES has demonstrated its commitment to respecting nature by obtaining Organic Agriculture and HEV level 3 certification.

History

The Quintessence of Faugères

Péby Faugères, a red wine jewel in the Vignobles Silvio Denz portfolio, was born in 1998, named as a tribute to the property’s former owner Pierre-Bernard Guisez (whose nickname was Péby). Consisting of Faugères’ best plots of Merlot, the vines, planted in a single block on the ancient soil of the clay-limestone slopes in St.-Émilion, produced a wine that was soon recognized in its own right. Quickly joining the ranks of the cream of the appellation, its 2000 vintage, named “Legend of the Future”, was included in Robert Parker’s 24 best wines of Bordeaux, obtaining a perfect score of 100/100 in 2005 in his “Wine Advocate”.

Grape varieties

100% Merlot selection

The fruit of a unique terroir, Péby Faugères is also the expression of an ongoing quest for perfection in the vineyard and the winery, where it benefits from the expertise of oenologist Michel Rolland.

The vineyard, which began its conversion to organic production in 2017, successfully obtained Organic Agriculture certification with the 2020 vintage. In addition to the rigorous standards it shares with the other Vignobles Silvio Denz properties, this St.-Émilion Grand Cru Classé has a policy of prioritizing quality over quantity. Every year, the harvest is subject to a draconian selection process, resulting in a highly reduced production of just 18 hectolitres per hectare. The annual 12,000 bottles of this 100% Merlot nectar are never enough to satisfy demand.

Portrait of Château PÉBY FAUGÈRES

St.-Émilion Grand Cru Classé

  • Recognized as a Grand Cru Classé in 2012
  • The quintessence of the Domaine de Faugères
  • Low yields: 22 hectolitres per plot, rigorous selection of berries
  • 100% Merlot
  • Organic Agriculture certification
  • High Environmental Value level 3 certification
  • South facing
  • Vines planted on hillsides
  • Second wine: Le Merle de Péby Faugères “Delicate nose with fresh woody notes, hazelnut and vanilla. Rich, velvety attack, offering spices (pepper, nutmeg) and ripe fruit. Pleasant chalky sensation on the palate with fine tannins.”

Highest award: 100 points from Robert Parker for the 2005 vintage

Dégustation

‘‘ Beautiful deep intense colour.
Intense nose of black fruit and truffles.
The palate is round and soft, with ultra-fine tannins and a velvety, flavour-packed finish. ’’

Technical sheet

Château PÉBY FAUGÈRES

St.-Émilion Grand Cru Classé

Tasting Notes

Château PÉBY FAUGÈRES

St.-Émilion Grand Cru Classé

Château PÉBY FAUGÈRES

Chateau Péby Faugères, Saint-Étienne-de-Lisse, France

View on map Contact us

Vineyards

Château PÉBY FAUGÈRES

Grand Cru Classé de Saint-Émilion

Découvrir

Terroir

Un univers unique

Constitué de 7,45 ha, Château PÉBY FAUGÈRES est situé sur un coteau argilo-calcaire d’un seul tenant, orienté sud-sud est.

Combinaison d’un grand sol ancien et d’un microclimat privilégié lié à la présence de la rivière et à la formation du coteau en cirque, ce terroir identique à la côte sud de Saint-Emilion est un univers unique dont l’homme est dépositaire, intervenant seulement pour en révéler les caractères.

Avec le millésime 2020, le Château PÉBY FAUGÈRES signe son attachement au respect de la nature avec l’obtention de la certification Agriculture Biologique et HVE niveau 3.

Histoire

Quintessence de Faugères

Fleuron rouge des Vignobles Silvio Denz, Péby Faugères est né en 1998, en hommage à Pierre-Bernard Guisez, ancien propriétaire du domaine dont il hérite du surnom. Constitué des meilleures parcelles de merlot de Faugères, ce vignoble planté d’un seul tenant sur le sol ancien du coteau argilocalcaire de Saint-Émilion ne tarde pas à être reconnu comme un vin à part entière. Très vite élevé au rang des plus grands, son millésime 2000 baptisé “ Légende du Futur ” est classé parmi les 24 meilleurs vins de Bordeaux par Robert Parker qui lui décerne en 2005 la notation parfaite de 100/100 dans son “ Wine Advocate ”.

Cépage

Sélection 100 % Merlot

Fruit d’un terroir unique, Péby Faugères est également l’expression d’une recherche permanente de perfection à la vigne comme au chai, où il bénéficie de l’expertise de l’oenologue Michel Rolland.

Son vignoble, en conversion biologique depuis 2017, obtient avec succès sa certification au Label AB (Agriculture Biologique) avec le millésime 2020. En plus des critères élevés d’exigence qu’il partage avec les autres domaines des Vignobles Silvio Denz, ce Grand Cru Classé de Saint-Émilion entretient la rareté. Chaque année, la vendange fait l’objet d’une sélection rigoureuse n’autorisant qu’une production confidentielle de 18 hectolitres par hectare. Les 12 000 bouteilles de ce nectar 100 % merlot ne suffisent jamais à satisfaire la demande.

Le portrait du Château PÉBY FAUGÈRES

Grand Cru Classé de Saint-Émilion

  • Reconnu Grand Cru Classé en 2012
  • La quintessence du Domaine de Faugères
  • Petits rendements : 22 hectolitres par hectare, sélection rigoureuse des baies
  • 100% Merlot
  • Son second vin : Le Merle de Péby Faugères « Un nez délicat aux notes de boisé frais, de noisette, et de vanille. Une bouche séveuse et velouté au registre d’épices : poivre, muscade, et de fruits mûrs. En bouche une belle sensation calcaire et des tanins fins.
  • Certifié du label Agriculture Biologique
  • Certifié du label Haute Valeur Environnementale de niveau 3
  • Exposition plein sud
  • Vignoble planté en coteaux

La plus grande reconnaissance : 100 points Parker pour le millésime 2005

Dégustation

‘‘ Couleur sombre, profonde et belle.
Nez intense de fruits et truffe noirs.
La bouche est ronde et douce, avec des tanins ultra fins et une finale savoureuse et veloutée. ’’

Fiche technique

Château PÉBY FAUGÈRES

Grand Cru Classé de Saint-Émilion

Notes de dégustation

Château PÉBY FAUGÈRES

Grand Cru Classé de Saint-Émilion

Château PÉBY FAUGÈRES

Chateau Péby Faugères, Saint-Étienne-de-Lisse, France

Voir sur un plan Nous contacter

Les Vignobles